Skip to main content
musée de l'imprimerie et de la communication graphique musée de l'imprimerie et de la communication graphique
musée de l'imprimerie et de la communication graphique
Revenir à l'accueil
School groups

VinylesMania

After its disappearance and return, vinyl is unquestionably once again part of our relationship with music. VinylesMania sets out to reveal what defines our rediscovered attachment to vinyl records, and to tour the globe in images of the women and men who bring them to life, from manufacturers to collectors by way of jacket designers and record shops. VinylesMania also relates legends and stories around this almost magic medium, including some fine, emotional moments.
VinylesMania is dedicated to Vaughan Oliver (1957-2019), designer of record sleeves and other visuals whose textured, mysterious approach, at the same time typographical and iconic, remains one of the most enchanting styles of the 20th century.

VinylesMania exhibition - October 1, 2020 to August 29, 2021​​​​​​​

King Vinyl

In the first six months of 2019 vinyl record sales in America amounted to 224.1 million dollars with 8.6 million items sold, as against slightly under 250 million dollars for CDs. Rock music accounts for over 40% of sales, with the great classics much in evidence; Rap represents 6.6% and R’n’B achieved 7.9% of sales. In France, 3.5 million vinyl records were sold in 2018.

Secrets of manufacture

VinylesMania draws a parallel between vinyl production and printing, plays on the harmony between music and graphic art, and opens the doors to two pressing shops and a research studio

- Record Industry of Harlem (Netherlands), 50.000 discs per day, where the British photographer Alastair Philip Wiper has taken some amazing shots of the manufacturing process,
- the Manufacture des vinyles, (Haute-Savoie department, France), which specializes in the development of 22 rpm discs for independent music labels,
- Magma Studio (Lyon), which started research into vinyl records in 2015 and will be offering public workshops during the exhibition.

Tales of vinyl

VinylesMania turns back the pages of history, looking at some of the legends surrounding vinyl in sounds and images: the logo of His Master's Voice; the battle between disco and rock during Disco Demolition Night (1979); the birth of the first « real » record sleeves designed by Alex Steinweiss for Columbia Records in 1939; the work of Paula Sher, one of the first women to design sleeves. Opportunities for the visitor to dive into the records in the collection of DJ Frankie Knuckles, or into the depths of Paradise Garage was home to the musical style of the same name and, very close to us, the metaphoric modeling of the graffiti artist Kesa from Lyon.

Flyer vinylesmania
Graphic design by Bureau 205

 

Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
Le projet Dad's Disc Delight par Zoe Timmers, 2015, @dadsdiscdelights
The Dad's Disc Delight project, by Zoe Timmers, 2015, @dadsdiscdelights

Portraits of diggers

They search everywhere, looking for nuggets. These passionate discoverers of lost discs show visitors their pieces: Christian Biral ("in high school, I would always carry a bag of records in my hands"); Fabien Vandamme with a recording from 1860 (17 years before the invention of the phonograph), made audible in 2008. Lyon Municipal Library holds a major collection of records of noise. An emotional touch in the archives of photographer Zoë Timmers who put together in 2013 a filmed portrait of her father, seriously ill, surrounded by his discs. The « vinyl mania » will perhaps be heightened by the shortage resulting from the recent fire at the Californian factory which had a monopoly on 80% of the primary material needed to produce black discs.

33 revolutions… of the earth

Africa is being honoured this year with the Africa 2020 project at the Institut Français. VinylesMania is paying tribute to the musical energy of the African continent, thanks to Sofa Records, a Lyon record-shop specializing in world music, and to the journalist Rachel Clara Reed who has taken photographs of the world of Jimmy, the owner of an unclassifiable record-stall right in the middle of the Kenyatta market in Nairobi. VinylesMania also takes us to a country where vinyl does not exist, South Korea, where it is almost totally absent from the shops and from the music scene. We travel on to Jerusalem where Emahoy Teague-Maryam, a 96-year-old Ethiopian pianist and composer, lives as a nun; we see her in a short appreciation beautifully filmed by Omar Gefen in 2015.

Surprising sleeves, with Lyon BD Festival

The French Ministry of Culture has declared 2020 "the year of the strip cartoon". A further incentive to explore the links between vinyl records and strip cartoons, often good bedfellows. In a third partnership between Lyon BD Festival and VinylesMania fifteen cartoon artists have been invited to design the record covers of their dreams, which will be displayed at the Fnac Lyon/Bellecour.

  • Stefano Guzzetti, Leaf, 2016, Stella Recordings
    1. Stefano Guzzetti, Leaf, 2016, Stella Recordings
  • Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
    2. Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
  • Vinyle fabriqué pour l'événement HiSeoul en 2015
    3. Vinyle fabriqué pour l'événement HiSeoul en 2015
  • Affiche La voix de son maître,  production Pathé-Marconi, 1952, 120x80, BHVP
    4. Affiche La voix de son maître, production Pathé-Marconi, 1952, 120x80, BHVP
  • Alex Steinweiss devant certaines des pochettes qu'il a créés, 1947, Photoo William P. Gottlieb, CC2
    5.1 Alex Steinweiss devant certaines des pochettes qu'il a créés, 1947, Photoo William P. Gottlieb, CC2
  • Alex Steinweiss Emperor Concerto (Beethoven), Rudolf Serkin avec Bruno Walter et le New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Columbia Masterworks, 1948
    5.2 Alex Steinweiss Emperor Concerto (Beethoven), Rudolf Serkin avec Bruno Walter et le New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Columbia Masterworks, 1948
  • Christian Biral, 2020
    7. Christian Biral, 2020
  • Compilation Mono No Aware, PAN, 2017
    8. Compilation Mono No Aware, PAN, 2017
  • Félicia Atkinson & Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Limpid As The Solitudes, Shelter Press, 2018
    8. Félicia Atkinson & Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Limpid As The Solitudes, Shelter Press, 2018

Aller au contenu principal
musée de l'imprimerie et de la communication graphique musée de l'imprimerie et de la communication graphique
musée de l'imprimerie et de la communication graphique
Revenir à l'accueil
Groupes scolaires

VinylesMania

Disparu et revenu, le vinyle est un objet qui s’impose à nouveau aujourd’hui comme une évidence dans notre relation à la musique. VinylesMania propose de dévoiler ce qui définit notre lien retrouvé avec les vinyles, mais aussi de faire le tour du monde en images de celles et ceux qui les font vivre, des fabricants aux collectionneurs, en passant par les créateurs de pochettes de disques et les boutiques. VinylesMAnia conte aussi les légendes et les histoires liées à ce média quasi magique, en y ajoutant de beaux moments d’émotion.
VinylesMania est dédiée à Vaughan Oliver (1957-2019), designer, concepteur de pochettes et de visuels, dont le style, texturé et mystérieux, très iconique et typographique à la fois, restera comme l‘un des plus envoûtants du XXe siècle.

Exposition VinylesMania, du 1er octobre 2020 au 21 février 2021

- Télécharger le flyer de l'exposition

Les vinyles en majesté

Durant le premier semestre de 2019, les vinyles ont engrangé 224,1 millions de dollars sur le marché américain pour 8,6 millions d’exemplaires vendus, contre un peu moins de 250 millions de dollars pour les CD. Le rock représente plus de 40 % des ventes, et met en avant les grands classiques ; le rap est présent à hauteur de 6,6 % et le R’n’B obtient 7,9 % des ventes. En France, 3,5 millions de vinyles ont été vendus en 2018.

Secrets de fabrication

VinylesMania développe les similitudes entre vinyle et imprimerie, joue sur les accords entre musique et graphisme et ouvre les portes de deux usine/atelier de pressage et un studio de recherche :

- la Record Industry de Harlem (Pays-Bas), 50 000 vinyles/jour, où le photographe britannique Alastair Philip Wiper a capturé d’étonnantes images de fabrication,
- la Manufacture des vinyles, (Haute-Savoie), spécialisée dans la conception de 33 tours pour les labels musicaux indépendants,
- Studio Magma (Lyon), qui a amorcé depuis 2015 un travail de recherche autour du vinyle et propose des ateliers avec le public au cours de l’exposition.

Histoires de vinyles

VinylesMania fait remonter le temps avec les légendes sonores et graphiques liées aux vinyles : le logo La voix de son maître ; la bataille entre le disco et le rock au cours de la Disco Demolition Night (1979) ; la naissance des premières « vraies » pochettes créées par Alex Steinweiss pour Columbia Records en 1939 ; les créations de Paula Sher, l’une des premières femmes designer de pochettes. Autant de prétextes pour faire plonger le visiteur dans la collection de vinyles du légendaire DJ Frankie Knuckles, ou dans les tréfonds du Paradise Garage qui abrita le courant musical du même nom et, très proche de nous, dans les modelages métaphoriques du graffeur lyonnais Kesa.

Flyer vinylesmania
Design graphique Bureau 205

 

Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
Le projet Dad's Disc Delight par Zoe Timmers, 2015, @dadsdiscdelights
Le projet Dad's Disc Delight par Zoe Timmers, 2015, @dadsdiscdelights

Portraits de diggers

Ils fouillent partout, à la recherche des pépites. Ces découvreurs acharnés des vinyles perdus révèlent au visiteur leurs pièces maîtresses : Christian Biral (« au lycée, j’avais toujours à la main un sac avec des vinyles ») ; Fabien Vandamme qui propose un enregistrement de 1860 (17 ans avant le phonographe), rendu audible en 2008. La Bibliothèque municipale de Lyon possède la plus importante collection de vinyles de bruitage. Touche d’émotion aussi avec l’archive sonore et visuelle de Zoë Timmers, photographe, qui réalise en 2013 un portrait filmé de son père, gravement malade, au milieu de ses vinyles. La « vinyles-mania » sera peut-être accentuée par la pénurie induite par l’incendie récent de l’usine californienne ayant le monopole de 80% de la matière première nécessaire à la fabrication des galettes noires.

33 tours… du monde

L’Afrique est à l’honneur cette année, à travers le projet Africa 2020 de l’Institut français. VinylesMania met en avant l’énergie musicale du continent africain, grâce à Sofa Records, disquaire lyonnais spécialisé dans les musiques du monde et aux photos de Rachel Clara Reed, journaliste, qui a photographié l’univers de Jimmy, propriétaire d’une boutique de disque inclassable au beau milieu du marché de Kenyatta, à Nairobi. VinylesMania se rend aussi au pays où le vinyle n’existe pas : la Corée du sud, où le vinyle est quasiment absent des boutiques et des pratiques musicales. Le voyage se poursuit à Jérusalem où vit en nonne Emahoy Tségué-Maryam, pianiste et compositrice éthiopienne de 96 ans, évoquée dans le court et beau témoignage filmé d’Omar Gefen, (2015).

Pochettes surprises, avec Lyon BD Festival

020 a été déclarée « Année de la Bande Dessinée » par le Ministère de la Culture. Il n’en faut pas plus pour explorer les liens unissant les vinyles et la BD, qui font souvent bon ménage. En partenariat pour la troisième fois avec Lyon BD Festival, VinylesMania est l’occasion de demander à 15 auteurs et autrices de réaliser leur pochette rêvée de vinyles, elles seront exposées ensuite à la Fnac Lyon/Bellecour.

  • Stefano Guzzetti, Leaf, 2016, Stella Recordings
    1. Stefano Guzzetti, Leaf, 2016, Stella Recordings
  • Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
    2. Alastair Philip Wiper, Record Industry, Harlem, 2016
  • Vinyle fabriqué pour l'événement HiSeoul en 2015
    3. Vinyle fabriqué pour l'événement HiSeoul en 2015
  • Affiche La voix de son maître,  production Pathé-Marconi, 1952, 120x80, BHVP
    4. Affiche La voix de son maître, production Pathé-Marconi, 1952, 120x80, BHVP
  • Alex Steinweiss devant certaines des pochettes qu'il a créés, 1947, Photoo William P. Gottlieb, CC2
    5.1 Alex Steinweiss devant certaines des pochettes qu'il a créés, 1947, Photoo William P. Gottlieb, CC2
  • Alex Steinweiss Emperor Concerto (Beethoven), Rudolf Serkin avec Bruno Walter et le New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Columbia Masterworks, 1948
    5.2 Alex Steinweiss Emperor Concerto (Beethoven), Rudolf Serkin avec Bruno Walter et le New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Columbia Masterworks, 1948
  • Christian Biral, 2020
    7. Christian Biral, 2020
  • Compilation Mono No Aware, PAN, 2017
    8. Compilation Mono No Aware, PAN, 2017
  • Félicia Atkinson & Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Limpid As The Solitudes, Shelter Press, 2018
    8. Félicia Atkinson & Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Limpid As The Solitudes, Shelter Press, 2018